WEAPONS PERMIT

Also Known As

Self Defense Act or S.D.A. License

 

 

An eligible person may request an application packet for a handgun license from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation or the county sheriff’s office either in person or by mail.

Applicants must bring their completed application and payment for the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation to the sheriff’s office between the hours of 8:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m., Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays. Fingerprinting will be conducted between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. Monday through Friday.

The sheriff’s office charges a $25.00 fee to cover fingerprinting and a criminal background check. Applicants must also provide two (2) passport size photographs of the applicant. The sheriff’s office does provide photographing services for an additional $10 (ten) dollars.

Completed applications, fingerprints and photographs will be forwarded to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation by the sheriff’s office. The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation will determine if an application is approved.

O.S.B.I. payment is by cashiers check or money order only, unless you have previously completed your application and paid your O.S.B.I. fees online.

If an application is approved by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, notification will be sent to the licensee’s residence.

Please understand that fingerprinted is conducted in the booking area of the County Jail so certain rules will apply.

No one will be allowed to bring any jewelry, weapons, purses, coats, hats and cell phones and some other items into the secure jail area. No talking to inmates will be allowed.

Only proper dress of attire will be allowed for those being brought into the Secure Jail Area. Please adhere to an appropriate dress code.

 

HOME